The Morning Shotgun/Throwdown (2/26/08)

Welcome, By-Godders, to the Tuesday edition of the Morning Shotgun/Throwdown, presented by Everclear.

No, not that Everclear, this one.

Note the torn “gloves” and ratty leather jacket. When you’re not in college and in a picture featuring you holding up a bottle of Everclear, you can pretty much count on being a drunk with torn clothes. You can also pretty much count on not having gone to college. And lastly, you’re probably drinking because you’re still just getting over our announcement from yesterday that we’re cutting down on posts. Or not.

Either way, just because there’s less posts doesn’t mean we can’t still bring the heat.

Like this…

annev.png

See, boobs — and it’s not even hump day. Just letting you know there are still plenty of reasons to visit WBGV, even during football offseason. So please, don’t despair. Not that any of you were.

Now, on to the Throwdown!

What You (May Have) Missed:

  • Death is Apparently Worth $20 Million: Of course, I’m joking, Big Show won’t actually die. And there’s zero chance “Pretty Boy” Floyd gets hurt. But still, $20 million can buy a whole lot of whatever it is Floyd Mayweather buys. My guess? Fried chicken and lottery tickets.
  • A Month of Bubble Puns Awaits Us: Basically, from here on out, we’ll address our bubble position after each game. But for now, know that we are squarely on that damn thing. We absolutely need to win 3-4 (assuming a loss at UConn). Beat UConn and things start to look much brighter.
  • Once Again, I Was Selectively Right: Yesterday, I told you Marquette would beat Villanova. Today, Marquette beat Villanova. Am I God? I’ll leave that question to the mortals.

Video of (Obese) Disinterest:

What To Watch For:

Call it blind hate, but whatever, I have medication for that. We’ll be fine without him, but Michigan? Not so much. Though, I would advocate a better cheer to get Pryor’s attention. Something like this…

  • Tennessee’s Run Lasts One Week: Yes, that’s right, Tennessee loses tomorrow at Vanderbilt. Doubt me? Sure, whatever. But remember, I know all, so doubt at your own peril.
  • Apparently, We Win Ten Games Next Year: To be honest, it looks pretty reasonable. I think most of us would take a Big East Championship next year considering the coaching turmoil and turnover on defense. As a blind optimist I think we’ll be better, but suicide isn’t an option at 10-2.

6 Responses

  1. I think next football season the Colorado game is the pivotal game of the year. If we win @ Colorado I see us going 12-0, 11-1 at the worst and should have a shot at getting into the NC game or hopefully the plus one game should the adopt it for 2008. Of course that is barring any many injuries to Pat White or Noel Devine (or any bar room brawls). I think our defense will be better than most people expect. Yes we graduated a lot of starters but we have many returning defenders who saw lots of playing time and do have some experience. I was worried about the defensive line but with Finau coming in and the way Neild played in the Fiesta Bowl I am less concerned plus we recruited lots of other d-linemen in this years class.

  2. Ah, Everclear… I’ll never forget the first time I got pukin’ drunk on that stuff. Freshman year, party in Sunnyside (right across the street from Old Mountaineer Field), and a big trash can full of Purple Jesus with sliced apples that had soaked in Everclear for 24 hours. My friends found me passed out face down in a beanbag chair in the corner of the living room and hauled my sorry ass back to Towers. Later, I painted the hallway wall purple as I tried and failed to make it down the hall to the latrine. Those were the days… (Written as I sit in my recliner sipping a good Oregon Willamette Valley pinot noir. I guess I’ve drifted a ways from my roots.)

    Sorry. Us old farts tend to wax nostalgic from time to time.

  3. Wax on wax off 1980 we love the stories

  4. Well, if there’s any proof that I’m “old,” it’s the fact that I locked on to the Everclear and made no mention of the blonde babe in the lingerie. I think I can still handle the Everclear, but the babe – not a chance.

  5. Nice prediction Charley. Do you have any investment tips?

  6. Milk, bread, eggs…just seeing if this comment will be deleted too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

