Dandy Don, Pitt Hater

Want to know what Don Nehlen thinks of the direction of the Pitt football program? If you do, be wary. It’s not pretty. In fact, I am going to deem this quote PG-13, parental guidance required. Think Marie Osmond…partially-naked:

“I think Pitt has a tough road to hoe. I think when they tore that [Pitt] stadium down, that was a big mistake. It’s very hard to create a college atmosphere in a pro stadium. I know one thing: If a high school player comes down here for a football game, and the next week he goes to a Pitt game, I know where he’s going to school. They don’t have the following we have. … That makes it tough for Pitt to catch us.”

Fantastic. Dandy Don, after all these years, still sticking it to Pitt. I hope that when I am his age, I still hate Pitt with as much passion as I do today. Actually, I hope that aliens have destroyed the city of Pittsburgh, but that’s slightly more far-fetched. Even more far-fetched? Pitt winning on Saturday.

[Note: that quote is part of a much larger article by Chuck Finder in yesterday’s Post-Gazette; I suggest you check it out.]

2 Responses

  1. Why, oh, why, did he have to sound like an idiot right before he said that? No one hoes a road. They hoe a row to plant in the field. Why the fuck would anyone hoe a road?

    BTW. In my Soph year in The Morg, I worked at a Subway on the corner of Sunnyside beside the ghost of Old Mountaineer Field. My boss painted a huge “PUCK FITT” right on the corner and Don Nehlen himself made him remove it. Maybe I’m still a little crusty over that.

  2. I think Don Nehlen has the right to say it anyway he wants. I was a student from 1989 to 1995. We had are ups and downs and Don always had class. He brought WVU football to a whole new level!! Look at the program before he was our coach and then look at it during and after his tenure. We played for a national championship!! And how many bowl games did we play? We also had one of the best defenses in the nation! He raised our own expectations of WVU. I want to thank him for all of the pride and class he brought to WVU and say that Bill Stewart is trying to emulate that same calibur of coaching. Kudos to him as well.

Leave a Reply

