Insert Long, Long String Of Obscenities Here

This just about sums it up.

Well, tonight was certainly a huge pile of shit. I would much rather wax philosophical on something about greener grass and another hill, but I can’t. Or at least I won’t, mostly because I want to curl up in the fetal position.

Tonight’s game was one of the single worst efforts I have ever seen in my short 153 year history with Mountaineer basketball. Awful shooting, lax rebounding, almost zero effort on defense. Not to mention the fact that we couldn’t catch a break with the referees and every piece of junk Cincinnati threw up went in. Add all that up and you get a 62-39 home loss. Last time I checked, that’s not good.

Just how bad was it?

  • Never: that’s the last time a Mountaineer team shot less than 20% from the field. The previous record was 23.1% against Maryland in 1951.
  • February 8, 1980: that’s the last time a Mountaineer team scored less than 39 points (38-49 vs. Duquesne).
  • 1-22 from beyond the 3-point arc: that is the worst percentage (4.5%) for a WVU team in a game where they actually made at least one 3-pointer.
  • Bon Huggins: gold suit.
  • Joe Alexander: everything.

I could go on, but those are the worst of the worst. Other major categories, like assists and rebounds, ranked just out of the top 20 for the worst performances in WVU history.

So, instead of continuing to recap this awful excuse for a game, I’m going to do something more productive. I’m going to go listen to the new CDs I bought today. Shit’s so new, you probably haven’t even heard of it yet.

10 Responses

  1. Well, we were picked 10th preseason in the Big East and, guess what, we are 10th. Funny how that turned out.

  2. funny to think what about 3 freethrows would have done for this season,

    Oaklahoma/Georgetown. We would have been in the top 15 if we can pull those games off. Now we are on a collision course with defending the only championship that noone wants to defend.

  3. We couldnt throw it in the ocean tonight!

  4. I agree R, and I hate that I am agreeing with it, but maybe 10th place was the right pick and we are just now seeing it, I just really don’t know what else to think about it after that performance last night.

  5. Don’t let this game get you completely down on the team. Everyone has a bad day. Hell, I only threw two shoes yesterday a record low for the month of January. Remember we were just 3 free throws away from beating two top 25 teams and have already won 15 games.

    Huggins will not let this team keep play as they did last night. We will pull ourselves up by our bootstraps and make a run down the stretch.

  6. At one point, I was just hoping we score more than St. Louis did. Worst shooting performance I’ve seen them have since following WVU hoops.

    But hey, a win over Providence and things start looking more clearly again.

  7. If they would have shot their usual percentage, I think they would have dominated Cincinnati. What a difference 20% would make.

  8. Did you have fun copying my post 5th year? haha

  9. Meanwhile Huggie’s old K-State did a job on the #2 team in the nation.

  10. Let’s not forget we missed those 3 FT’s and took an L. What are we, Marshall? If if’s and but’s were candy and nuts, we’d all have a merry christmas.

Leave a Reply

