Yet Another Out of Conference Game Saturday

Oh wait, Cincinnati is in the Big EAST?  Right, my bad.  I forgot.

It’s almost the same exact feeling as UConn last week (just replace UConn with Cincinnati in every sentence).  Once again, I know it’s a decently-sized game against a frisky team, but I just can’t get excited.  At least UConn’s basketball heritage reminds me that they’re supposed to be in this conference.  But Cincinnati?  They’re still a Conference USA team, at least until they do something of national importance (losing by 20+ to Oklahoma doesn’t count).

Even in one of our worst years (imagine saying that about a 2 loss season 10 years ago), we’re still running roughshod over the Big EAST.  I fully expect us to go undefeated the rest of the way.  In fact, there’s not a doubt in mind.  Maybe this is how Miami felt in the 90’s — it’s us and then the rest of a mediocre conference.

I guess I just wish the rest of the Big EAST could get their shit together.  Seriously, what confidence am I supposed to have when Louisville loses to Syracuse, Pitt loses to Rutgers, and USF loses to everybody?  These are the other top teams in this conference and they’re out there puking all over themselves.  Sure, we had some early season hiccups, but the kinks are getting worked out.

Luckily, we have the Big EAST to work them out against.

13 Responses

  1. “I guess I just wish the rest of the Big EAST could get their shit together. Seriously, what confidence am I supposed to have when Louisville loses to Syracuse, Pitt loses to Rutgers, and USF loses to everybody? These are the other top teams in this conference and they’re out there puking all over themselves.”

    Beautifully put!

  2. Beware of the Bearcats. I live here in Cincy and have watched what they have accomplished over the past 2 years. There is no doubt that they don’t have the talent that we do on the offensive side of the ball.

    However their defense is eerily similar to USF of last year. They have lock down corners that will play man and put 9 in the box to stop the run.

    Offensively they have the 2 best WR will face this year (Gilyard, Goodman). They can throw the ball deep. That is a tough match-up for a young 3-3-5 defense. Oh and they don’t drop the ball very much. WVU will need to send a 5-man blitz frequently to stop the deep route.

    They have a master mind head coach that has them thinking they can compete with anyone. They are a much better football team than Uconn, in which they lost with a 3rd and 4th string QB’s playing.

    That being said we will not lose in Morgantown under the lights. Mounties win 31-24 on the back of Pat White! Take the 6pt teaser at -1 (it is a lock).

  3. Have you seen the breasts on that first girl? She must have back problems to be build like that. It’s almost like she’s got pillows just strapped to… wait, what? It’s football season? My mind seems to have drifted.

  4. I like how Naty thinks! Very good football information. Charley, does that help get you fired up?

    I’m making an 8 hour drive to watch the Mounties this weekend! What the fuck am i thinking?

  5. Charley, does that help get you fired up?

    Honestly, not really.

  6. I was thinking about making the drive from SC but I can’t afford it even with gas going down so much. I hate missing home games.

    I am pumped for the game.

  7. 5th, just drive to Raleigh, and you can ride with me!

  8. I believe that the Big East is the 3rd best BCS conference this year behind the 12 and SEC. The top 6 (excluding RU and SU) can beat any other BEAST team and the speed is simply faster than the other conferences (especially the ACC and Big Ten). I agree that the BEAST isn’t necessarily a good deal for the Mountaineers. I would much rather be in the BEAST w/ ND and PSU as it would make 2 more opponents to actually get up for….Sorry, UCANT, CINCY and Louisville don’t do it for me…..I would also approve of being in the SEC.

  9. Stay Focused! No turnovers and if everyone is on the same page we will win big! Find it! Keep it ! Ride it!

    LETS GO!

  10. MOUNTAINEERS!!!!!!

  11. wvu columbus…I agree. I live in Columbus too ( I’m assuming you do) finally someone who understands me..I mean living in scarlet and gray and big10 country sucks during football season, sucks most of the time, but really sucks from August to December.

  12. KENH and Columbus, I feel your pain. I lived in Columbus for 16 years and couldn’t stand football season thanks to all the Buckeye fans. Makes me appreciate living in WV that much more. Hey, at least we can beat SEC teams.

    Maybe it’s just me, but I think we’re going to have our hands full tomorrow night. Cincy is a well-coached team and has playmakers at WR and on D. They will be ready to play. Hopefully the crowd is into it and the players execute well—if we execute, we win.

  13. If we get burnt deep twice it will be a nail biter. If we can keep them in front of us and score 4 TD’s we’ll be ok.

Leave a Reply

